Lesson Plans

Lesson Plans

Written by veteran educators for educators, our Teacher and Discussion Guides are ready for use in your classroom or at your next book club. Our Teacher Guides include differentiated activities, links to additional resources, and ideas for multi-disciplinary extension activities for use with a variety of our titles.

Algeria is Beautiful like America

Algeria is Beautiful
like America

Olivia’s quest to understand her origins will bring her to face questions about heritage, history, shame, friendship, memory, nostalgia, fantasy, the nature of exile, and our unending quest to understand who we are and where we come from.

Click here to download our resources!

Enchanted Chest Educator Book Cover

Enchanted Chest

Raised by a fisherman from the depths of the sea, an ornate chest soon attracts the attention of the greedy King, always searching for more treasure. But the King has a problem: nothing and nobody can open the chest. A thousand keys, a thousand tools, and a thousand swords were tried.

Click here to download our resources!

Educator Green Almonds Cover

Green Almonds

Green Almonds is an intimate story with big implications. A young woman discovers a country, works there, makes friends, lives a love story, and is confronted with the plight of the Palestinians, the violence on a daily basis that we see on our screens and read in our newspapers.

Click here to download our available resources!

Little Pierrot Educator Book Cover

Little Pierrot

Little Pierrot is a young boy with a very large imagination and his head forever in the stars. Joined by his snail buddy, the aptly named Mr. Snail, he sets off to explore the boundaries of space in a series of magical and surreal adventures: first to reach the Moon, and then the Stars . . . Classic comics storytelling for young readers in the vein of Calvin and Hobbes.

Click here to download our available resources!

Little Tails on the Farm Educator Book Cover

Little Tails on the Farm

Chipper and Squizzo set out on a fun, educational journey to a different location, encountering the real-world animals found there in beautiful illustration and fun cartoon strip antics. In this new volume, they visit a nearby farm and meet a wide variety of new and interesting domestic and wild animals!

Click here to download our available resources!

Little Tails in the Forest Book Cover

Little Tails in the Forest

Chipper and Squizzo set out on a fun, educational journey to a different location, encountering the real-world animals found there in beautiful illustration and fun cartoon strip antics. In this new volume, they visit a nearby farm and meet a wide variety of new and interesting domestic and wild animals!

Click here to download our available resources!

Little Tails in the Jungle

Little Tails in the Jungle

Chipper and Squizzo set out on a fun, educational journey to a different location, encountering the real-world animals found there in beautiful illustration and fun cartoon strip antics. In this new volume, they visit a nearby farm and meet a wide variety of new and interesting domestic and wild animals!

Click here to download our available resources!

Little Tails Savannah Cover

Little Tails on the Savannah

Chipper and Squizzo set out on a fun, educational journey to a different location, encountering the real-world animals found there in beautiful illustration and fun cartoon strip antics. In this new volume, they visit a nearby farm and meet a wide variety of new and interesting domestic and wild animals!

Click here to download our available resources!

Little Tails Under the Sea Educator Cover

Little Tails Under the Sea

Chipper and Squizzo are a precocious puppy and squirrel who love to explore new and exciting environments, flying their cardboard box airplane to wondrous worlds full of fascinating animals and creatures. In this sixth volume of the series, the scrappy duo take a trip under the sea to explore the strange and interesting wildlife found in the ocean!

Click here to download our resources!

Educator Love Tiger

Vol. 1: Love the Tiger

This exciting tale by Frédéric Brrémaud is told without narration or dialogue, conveyed entirely through the beautiful illustrations of Federico Bertolucci. This beautiful, all-ages title explores genuine natural behavior through the dramatic lens of Disney-esque storytelling, like a nature documentary in illustration.

Click here to download our resources!

Puerto Rico Strong

Puerto Rico Strong

Puerto Rico Strong features art and writing by Rosa Colon, Vita Ayala, Naomi Franquiz, Javier Cruz Winnik, Sabrina Cintron, Ronnie Garcia, Fabian Nicieza, Joamette Gil, and many more! Puerto Rico Strong is a comics anthology that explores what it means to be Puerto Rican and the diversity that exists within that concept, from today’s most exciting Puerto Rican comics creators.

Click here to download our resources!

Love the Fox Educator Book Cover

Vol. 2: Love the Fox

It’s not easy being one of the smaller predators in the woods, competing with an entire woodland population for scraps along the food chain. But when nature throws cataclysmic weather into the mix, it becomes a race for survival . . . and love. Follow an agile, intrepid fox through a day’s journey through the woods.

Click here to download our resources!

Love: Lion Educator Book Cover

Vol. 3: Love the Lion

Both heartwarming and heartbreaking, this volume focuses on a solitary lion as it wanders the plains of Africa, handling the daily hunt, and vicious rivalry, without a pride of its own. The circle of life takes center stage in a world where predator and prey trade places on a regular basis, and family is something worth fighting—and dying—for.

Click here to download our resources!

Educator Sheets Cover

Sheets

Marjorie Glatt feels like a ghost. A practical thirteen-year-old in charge of the family laundry business, her daily routine features unforgiving customers, unbearable P.E. classes, and laundry…always, always laundry.

Click here to download our resources!

This is a Taco

This is a Taco!

Squirrels don’t eat tacos! Or do they? Read along as Taco the squirrel writes his own story. Taco the squirrel won’t let some book tell him who he is! This hilarious send-up of a children’s nature primier teaches kids that the most important story is the one you write yourself.

Click here to download our available resources!

This is a Whoopsie Educator Book Cover

This is a Whoopsie!

This is supposed to be a book about all the different things moose can do, like leaping and jumping and being really tall. But maybe Whoopsie isn’t the right moose for the job. You might want to pick a different moose for this book. Maybe instead we can do a book about falling down a lot? Yeah! Whoopsie would be great at that. From the creative team of This Is a Taco!, this hilarious book about a clumsy moose shows that sometimes being a little different can make one great story.

Click here to download our available resources!